Slipping back

I worry about slipping back to who I used to be. It’s so easy to put the walls back up. To hide behind a front and not let people see the frightened honest open person inside.

It’s easier to hide your feelings than show the world who you are, knowing that you can’t get hurt if you don’t let people in.

I can’t, I won’t skip back. I’m not that person anymore. My walls are down. My front has gone. Each new day brings another slight change in me for the better.

Every day I wake up and look in the mirror and see the monster I used to be standing behind me, every day he gets further and further away.

I do worry about slipping back to the monster but every single time I close my eyes and exhale, blowing him further away.

I will be the real me. I hope one day she can see that.

One thought on “Slipping back

Leave a comment